Copa America

It’s that time of year again when the Copa America groups have been released. The South American championship will begin with a game between Argentina and Bolivia on July 1st. Along with these two teams, Japan and Colombia will round out Group A while the defending champs, Brazil, is in Group B with Ecuador, Paraguay and Venezuela. Group C will include Uruguay, Chile, Mexico and Peru.

Both Mexico and Japan are guest nations playing in this tournament. Sources say that Mexico’s coach, Jose Manuel de la Torre, will skip the Copa and send an assistant instead. He wishes to concentrate more on the CONCACAF Gold Cup, the championship of North and Central America and the Caribbean.

Since the Gold Cup final is on June 25th in the Rose Bowl and Copa America begins on July 1st, it makes sense that Mexico’s coach cares more about their own tournament than South America’s. Mexico is also sending an under-23 team to the Copa tournament.

Comments are now closed for this article.